- What a CGA Actually Is
- Who Runs the Credential and Who Can Apply
- The Two Examinations: Theory and Practical Report Writing
- Prerequisite Education: GJ201 and GJ202 as One Route
- Fees, Windows, and Registration Mechanics
- What AGS Has Not Publicly Disclosed
- Annual Recertification
- Where CGAs Work and Who Values the Credential
- Sequencing Your Preparation
- Frequently Asked Questions
- A CGA is a Certified Gemologist Appraiser, a credential issued by the American Gem Society (AGS) to its own Certified Gemologists.
- The initial exam fee is $349, payable only after your prerequisites are approved.
- Certification involves a theory examination plus a separate practical appraisal-report-writing examination.
- ASA GJ201 and GJ202 are one AGS-approved prerequisite education route, not the only one.
What a CGA Actually Is
In this context, CGA stands for Certified Gemologist Appraiser. It is a professional credential awarded by the American Gem Society (AGS) to jewelry professionals who have demonstrated the ability to value gems and jewelry and to document that valuation in a defensible written appraisal report.
The acronym is shared with several unrelated credentials in other fields, so it is worth being precise. Everything in this article concerns the AGS gemologist-appraiser credential and nothing else. If you want the short-form definition pages, see What Does CGA Stand For? and What Is CGA Certification?.
The distinction that matters most: a CGA is not a gemologist credential in the identification sense. Applicants must already be AGS Certified Gemologists. The CGA layer adds appraisal: valuation theory, ethics, market analysis, and report writing that stands up to scrutiny from insurers, courts, and clients.
Who Runs the Credential and Who Can Apply
The credential is controlled end to end by the American Gem Society. Initial examinations are AGS-controlled and delivered online. AGS does not publicly identify an external testing or proctoring vendor, so candidates should confirm the delivery details directly when they apply.
Eligibility has several moving parts, and each one is a gate you must clear before you can sit for the exam:
- Existing AGS Certified Gemologist status. This is a hard prerequisite, not a recommendation.
- Employment at an AGS member business. There is no general non-member exam price; the pathway is tied to AGS membership through your employer.
- Approved appraisal education. You must complete AGS-approved foundational appraisal coursework.
- Color-vision testing. This is part of the application requirements.
- Agreement to approved appraisal and report standards. You attest that your work will follow the applicable standards.
For a fuller walk-through of eligibility, read CGA Requirements 2026: Eligibility, Prerequisites & How to Qualify.
The Two Examinations: Theory and Practical Report Writing
The initial CGA process consists of two distinct assessments:
- A theory examination testing your command of valuation principles, ethics, and appraisal practice.
- A practical appraisal-report-writing examination in which you produce an actual appraisal report rather than answering questions about one.
This split is what makes the credential feel different from many multiple-choice-only certifications. Knowing the vocabulary of valuation is necessary but not sufficient; you also have to apply it to a specific piece of jewelry and write it up coherently.
Be careful with the details that circulate informally. AGS has not publicly verified the question or task counts, the split between scored and unscored items, the response format of the theory exam, any timed-component limits, or the initial passing threshold. Anyone quoting a specific number of questions or a specific cut score for the initial exam is going beyond the published record. Our pages on the CGA passing score and how hard the CGA exam is explain what can and cannot be said responsibly.
Prerequisite Education: GJ201 and GJ202 as One Route
One AGS-approved way to satisfy the foundational appraisal education requirement is the pair of Gems and Jewelry courses offered through the American Society of Appraisers (ASA): GJ201 and GJ202. The AGS qualifying-education page explicitly lists ASA GJ201 plus GJ202 among its accepted routes. It is one route among several. Taking ASA coursework does not make the CGA an ASA credential, and you are not required to choose ASA.
Because these courses are a documented route, their content is a reasonable map of the preparation categories a CGA candidate should master. They are not an official weighted blueprint of the AGS exam, and no public dated 2026 weighted blueprint exists for the initial CGA exam. Treat them as unweighted preparation categories.
Domain 1: GJ201 - Foundation I: Core Principles of Appraising Gems and Jewelry
This course builds the valuation theory that everything else rests on. It is grounded in the concepts, vocabulary, and expectations of the Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice (USPAP), and it carries through the later principles-of-value coursework.
- Ethics, competency, privacy, and the responsibilities of the appraiser
- The three approaches to valuation
- Types of markets and their various levels
- Definitions of value
- The client / intended user / appraiser relationship
- Basic economic theory, including how macroeconomic and local economic forces affect jewelry valuation
- The ASA-GJ Descriptive Elements for the types of gems and jewelry appraisers commonly encounter
Domain 2: GJ202 - Foundations II: Appraising Gems and Jewelry for Insurance Scheduling
This course turns theory into practice, focused on developing and reporting an appraisal for the intended use of insurance scheduling. USPAP Standard 7 and Standard 8 form the basis for development and reporting.
- When and how to apply the primary approaches to valuation
- Recognizing and ranking relevant characteristics of specific types of property
- Core concepts of data research and reconciliation
- Narrative report writing
- The required elements of a USPAP-compliant and ASA-compliant report
- Constructing or modifying an appraisal report for a single item of jewelry to demonstrate competency
Notice how naturally these two domains map onto the two-exam structure: GJ201 resembles the theory side, while GJ202's report-construction work resembles the practical side. That mapping is a study heuristic, not an official correspondence. For more on how to organize these areas, see CGA Exam Domains 2026: Complete Guide to All 2 Content Areas.
GJ203 sits outside this minimum route and is not required for the path described here.
Fees, Windows, and Registration Mechanics
| Item | What is publicly known |
|---|---|
| Initial exam fee | $349, payable after prerequisite approval |
| Member discounts | Diamond and Gold member discounts exist; amounts are not quoted publicly |
| Non-member pricing | No general non-member exam price; employment at an AGS member business is required |
| Refunds and transfers | Nonrefundable and nontransferable |
| Expired access | You must repurchase if your access expires |
| Completion window | Sources conflict (two weeks vs. three weeks); confirm with AGS |
| Calculator, open-book, adaptive, proctoring rules | Not publicly verified for the initial exam |
Two practical lessons follow from this table. First, because the fee is nonrefundable and nontransferable, you should not purchase until you are ready to use the access window. Second, because expired access requires repurchase, a launch date you cannot honor is an expensive mistake. The $349 figure covers the exam itself; prerequisite coursework and other costs are separate, which is why a full budget needs a broader view. Our breakdown in CGA Certification Cost 2026: Complete Pricing Breakdown walks through the components, and CGA Exam Dates 2026 covers scheduling considerations.
What AGS Has Not Publicly Disclosed
A good source distinguishes what is known from what is not. For the initial CGA examination, the following are not publicly verified:
- The number of questions or tasks
- The scored versus unscored split
- The theory exam's response format
- Timed-component limits
- The passing threshold
- Numerical domain weights and the domain count
- A public pass rate
If you see a precise pass percentage or cut score quoted for the initial exam, treat it with skepticism. For the honest state of the evidence, see CGA Pass Rate 2026: What the Data Shows.
Key Takeaway
Because the initial blueprint is not published, prepare for competence across both foundations rather than gaming a guessed weighting. Ethics, the three approaches to value, and USPAP-based report construction should all be solid before you launch the exam.
Annual Recertification
Earning the credential is not the end of the obligation. CGAs complete annual recertification, with applicable fees and, when requested, an appraisal-report review. The fixed continuing-education hour requirement and the annual fee amount are not verified in the public sources reviewed.
The renewal exam is a different animal from the initial one. Annual renewal is open book, untimed, and requires a 75% pass, delivered through AGS PRO. The 2026 deadline of September 22 at 11:59 p.m. PT has passed. Credentials earned on or after December 1, 2025 first renew in 2027.
Where CGAs Work and Who Values the Credential
Because the exam pathway requires employment at an AGS member business, the credential is concentrated in the retail and professional jewelry trade. Typical settings include independent and chain jewelry stores that offer appraisal services, jewelers who handle insurance replacement valuations, and appraisal practices serving insurance clients and individuals who need documentation for scheduling, estate, or resale purposes.
The credential's selling point is trust. A CGA signals that the appraiser is a certified gemologist who has also been tested on valuation ethics and written-report quality, which matters when an insurer or a client relies on the document. We do not publish invented salary figures here; for what can be said about earnings and the career case, see CGA Salary Guide 2026, Is the CGA Certification Worth It?, and CGA Jobs.
Sequencing Your Preparation
Because the two foundational areas build on each other, order matters more than intensity. Settle the theory first, then practice the report. A simple, CGA-specific sequence:
GJ201-style theory
- Master the three approaches to value and the definitions of value
- Drill ethics, competency, and the client / intended user / appraiser relationship
- Learn the descriptive elements for common gem and jewelry types
GJ202-style application
- Work through USPAP Standard 7 and Standard 8 reasoning
- Practice data research and reconciliation on real items
- Draft a narrative report for a single piece of jewelry, then critique it
Integrate and rehearse
- Re-read your report against the required report elements
- Confirm the current USPAP edition and your exam access window with AGS
- Use practice questions to expose weak theory areas before you pay for access
Schedule the theory phase first because report writing without a firm grasp of value definitions produces vague, unsupported conclusions. For a broader plan, read the CGA Study Guide 2026 and keep the CGA Cheat Sheet handy for last-minute review. If you want structured question practice on the theory side, the main practice test site is a good place to start, and you can also compare your readiness with the resources under CGA Training.
Frequently Asked Questions
It stands for Certified Gemologist Appraiser, a credential from the American Gem Society. It builds on the AGS Certified Gemologist designation by adding appraisal theory and report-writing competence. See also CGA Meaning.
The initial exam fee is $349 after your prerequisites are approved. Diamond and Gold member discounts exist but the amounts are not publicly quoted. The fee is nonrefundable and nontransferable, and expired access requires repurchase.
That description applies to annual renewal, not the initial exam. For the initial examination, calculator, open-book, adaptive, and proctoring rules are not publicly verified, so confirm them with AGS before you launch.
No. ASA GJ201 plus GJ202 is one AGS-approved route among several listed on the qualifying-education page. Choose the route that fits your situation, and verify it against the current AGS page.
AGS does not publicly disclose an initial pass rate, so any specific percentage you encounter should be treated cautiously. Annual renewal requires a 75% pass, but that figure belongs to renewal, not the initial exam.