- What CGA Means in This Article
- The American Gem Society Behind the Credential
- What the Title Signals to Clients and Employers
- The Path to Earning the Credential
- The Two-Part Examination
- The Two Prerequisite Domains: GJ201 and GJ202
- Fees, Windows, and Fine Print
- Keeping the Credential Active
- Who Values the Credential
- Sequencing Your Preparation
- Common Misreadings of the Acronym
- Frequently Asked Questions
- CGA here means Certified Gemologist Appraiser, a credential issued by the American Gem Society (AGS).
- You must already be an AGS Certified Gemologist and work at an AGS member business to apply.
- The initial exam fee is $349 after prerequisite approval, and the exam has theory and practical report-writing parts.
- Approved appraisal education now replaces the former Appraisals I and II prerequisite, including ASA GJ201 plus GJ202.
What CGA Means in This Article
CGA stands for Certified Gemologist Appraiser. It is a professional designation from the American Gem Society, aimed at people who already hold AGS gemologist credentials and want to prove they can value gems and jewelry in a way that meets recognized appraisal standards. If you came here wondering whether the letters refer to something else entirely, it is worth knowing that the same three letters are used by several unrelated credentials in other fields. Everything on this page concerns the gem and jewelry appraisal credential only.
The wording of the title matters. "Certified Gemologist" describes the identification and grading skill base. "Appraiser" adds a second layer: the ability to assign defensible value, document it in a written report, and follow professional standards while doing so. The credential sits at the point where gem knowledge meets valuation practice, which is why its exam has both a theory component and a hands-on report-writing component.
For a broader orientation, our related explainers cover what CGA is, what CGA stands for, and what CGA certification involves. This article focuses on the meaning behind the title and what it asks of the person who holds it.
The American Gem Society Behind the Credential
The American Gem Society administers the credential, and that detail shapes nearly every rule you will encounter. The CGA is not an open-enrollment certificate that anyone can purchase and sit. It is a member-oriented credential, and AGS requires that an applicant be employed at an AGS member business. There is no general non-member exam price published, because the pathway presumes membership context.
Examinations are controlled by AGS and delivered online. AGS does not publicly identify the external testing or proctoring vendor, and several operational details of the initial exam, such as calculator rules, open-book status, or adaptive behavior, are not verified in public materials. Candidates should confirm those specifics directly with AGS before test day rather than relying on forum rumor.
What the Title Signals to Clients and Employers
To a consumer, the letters signal that the person writing a valuation has been tested on appraisal principles and report writing, not just on stone identification. To an employer such as a jeweler, the credential signals that a staff member can produce documentation that holds up when it is used for insurance scheduling or similar purposes.
Specifically, the credential implies familiarity with these ideas, drawn from the preparation coursework described below:
- Ethics, competency, privacy, and the responsibilities of an appraiser
- The relationship among client, intended user, and appraiser
- Definitions of value and the types and levels of markets
- The three approaches to valuation and when each applies
- Writing a narrative report that meets professional standards
If you are weighing the career impact, see our analysis of whether the CGA is worth it, our salary guide, and our overview of CGA jobs.
The Path to Earning the Credential
The route to the title has several gates, and they must be passed in a sensible order. AGS requires that applicants:
- Already be AGS Certified Gemologists
- Complete approved appraisal education
- Complete color-vision testing
- Agree to applicable approved appraisal and report standards
- Be employed at an AGS member business
Only after the prerequisites are approved does the exam fee come into play. The full eligibility picture is laid out in our CGA requirements guide.
The Two-Part Examination
The initial examination has two distinct pieces: a theory examination and a separate practical appraisal-report-writing examination. This split is central to what the credential means. Passing a knowledge test alone does not earn the title; you must also demonstrate that you can turn an item of jewelry into a coherent, standards-compliant written appraisal.
Be careful about what is and is not known publicly. AGS does not publish the current question or task counts, the scored versus unscored split, the theory response format, the timed-component limits, or the initial passing threshold. The initial pass rate is not publicly disclosed. We discuss why that matters for expectations in our guides on the CGA pass rate and the CGA passing score, and on how hard the exam is.
| Element | What is publicly stated |
|---|---|
| Theory exam | Exists; format, count, and timing not publicly verified |
| Practical report-writing exam | Exists as a separate exam; task details not publicly verified |
| Initial passing threshold | Not publicly verified |
| Initial pass rate | Not publicly disclosed |
| Delivery | AGS-controlled online examinations |
| Access window | Conflicting: three weeks (credential overview) vs. two weeks (application) |
Key Takeaway
The two-week and three-week figures are access or completion windows after launching the exam, not timed-test durations. Because AGS pages conflict, confirm the applicable window with AGS before you begin.
The Two Prerequisite Domains: GJ201 and GJ202
AGS does not publish a dated, weighted initial blueprint for 2026, so the domain count and the heaviest-weighted area are unknown. What we can use are the two courses that make up one currently approved education route. They provide unweighted preparation categories, not an official or exhaustive exam outline. For more on how we treat these areas, see the CGA exam domains guide.
Domain 1: GJ201 - Foundation I: Core Principles of Appraising Gems and Jewelry
This course builds the conceptual base for valuation. It is built on the concepts, vocabulary, and expectations of the Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice (USPAP) and carries through later principles-of-value coursework.
- Essential principles and theories of valuation
- Basic economic theory, including how macroeconomics and local economic forces affect jewelry valuation
- Ethics, competency, privacy, and appraiser responsibilities
- The three approaches to valuation
- Types of markets and their levels, and definitions of value
- The client, intended user, and appraiser relationship
- The ASA-GJ Descriptive Elements for the gems and jewelry appraisers commonly encounter
Domain 2: GJ202 - Foundations II: Appraising Gems and Jewelry for Insurance Scheduling
This course applies the GJ201 principles to developing and reporting an appraisal for insurance scheduling, with USPAP Standard 7 and Standard 8 forming the basis for development and reporting.
- When and how to apply the primary approaches to valuation
- Recognizing and ranking relevant characteristics of specific property types
- Core concepts of data research and reconciliation
- Narrative report writing
- Required elements of a USPAP-compliant and ASA-compliant report
- Constructing or modifying an appraisal report for a single item of jewelry to earn course credit
Notice how naturally these map onto the two-part exam. GJ201 is theory-heavy: definitions, ethics, market levels, approaches. GJ202 is the report-writing discipline made concrete. A candidate who treats the two as separate silos will struggle, because the practical report depends on the vocabulary and judgment built in the first course.
One caution on currency: the ASA library includes stale ancillary reading-edition text, such as a USPAP 2020-2021 reference. No current adoption of that edition is asserted here, so always verify the current standards edition independently rather than studying from an outdated reading list. GJ203 falls outside this minimum route.
Fees, Windows, and Fine Print
The initial exam fee is $349 after prerequisite approval. Diamond and Gold member discounts exist, but the amounts are not quoted publicly, and there is no general non-member exam price. Access is nonrefundable and nontransferable, and if your access expires you must repurchase it. That last point makes the access-window conflict worth resolving before you pay.
| Item | Detail |
|---|---|
| Initial exam fee | $349 after prerequisite approval |
| Member discounts | Diamond/Gold discounts exist; amounts unquoted |
| Non-member price | None published; AGS member-business employment required |
| Refunds/transfers | Nonrefundable and nontransferable |
| Expired access | Repurchase required |
Education costs are separate from the exam fee and vary by route. Our CGA certification cost breakdown walks through how to budget, and our exam dates guide covers scheduling considerations.
Keeping the Credential Active
The title is not permanent by default. CGA holders complete annual recertification, which carries applicable fees and may include an appraisal-report review when AGS requests one. The fixed continuing-education hours and the annual fee amount are not verified in public sources, so confirm them with AGS.
The annual renewal exam has its own, much friendlier format: it is open book, untimed, with a 75% pass requirement, delivered through AGS PRO. The 2026 deadline, September 22 at 11:59 p.m. PT, has already passed. Credentials earned on or after December 1, 2025 first renew in 2027.
Who Values the Credential
Because eligibility requires employment at an AGS member business, the natural home for CGA holders is the independent and regional fine-jewelry retail world, along with appraisal practices tied to those businesses. In those settings the title supports services such as insurance scheduling documentation and written valuations for clients. The credential is less a general job-market passport than a mark of standing within the AGS community.
Specific earnings outcomes depend heavily on role, market, and the employer's appraisal volume, and no reliable public figure exists for the credential alone, so we avoid quoting numbers here. For a qualitative look at how the credential fits into a gem-trade career, read our CGA jobs overview and salary analysis.
Sequencing Your Preparation
Since the exam has no published weighted blueprint, the sensible approach is to prepare along the two course lines and then rehearse the practical write-up. Here is one way to order the work, tied to the content above rather than to generic habits.
GJ201 foundations
- Master definitions of value, market levels, and the three approaches
- Review ethics, competency, privacy, and the client/intended user/appraiser relationship
- Learn the descriptive elements for common gem and jewelry types
GJ202 application
- Study how Standard 7 and Standard 8 shape development and reporting
- Practice research, reconciliation, and ranking of property characteristics
- Draft narrative reports for single items for insurance scheduling
Integration and rehearsal
- Take timed practice on theory topics via our practice test site
- Rewrite a report from scratch to confirm you can complete one cleanly
- Verify the current standards edition and your exam access window
For a fuller plan, see our CGA study guide, the CGA training overview, and the quick-reference CGA cheat sheet. You can also drill concepts on the CGA Exam Prep practice questions.
Common Misreadings of the Acronym
Mistaking it for a different credential
Several unrelated professional designations share these three letters, and their fees, bodies, and exams have nothing to do with gemology. If a source mentions accounting standards, pass rates for a finance exam, or salary figures tied to another field, it is not describing this credential.
Assuming it equals an ASA credential
ASA coursework is one approved education route, but the CGA remains an AGS credential. Completing GJ201 and GJ202 does not confer an ASA designation, and the CGA is not equivalent to one.
Assuming a general-public exam
Prior AGS Certified Gemologist status and AGS member-business employment are required. You cannot simply register as an outsider. See also what a CGA is and what CGA means for related framing, and our CGA certification page for the process in one place.
Frequently Asked Questions
It stands for Certified Gemologist Appraiser, a credential from the American Gem Society for AGS Certified Gemologists who complete approved appraisal education and pass a theory exam and a practical appraisal-report-writing exam.
The initial exam fee is $349 after prerequisite approval. Diamond and Gold member discounts exist, but the amounts are not publicly quoted, and there is no general non-member price.
You must already be an AGS Certified Gemologist and be employed at an AGS member business. Color-vision testing and approved appraisal education are also required.
No. Annual renewal is open book, untimed, and requires a 75% pass through AGS PRO. Those rules do not describe the initial examination, whose format, timing, and passing threshold are not publicly verified.
AGS pages conflict: the credential overview says three weeks after launch, while the application says two weeks. Both describe access windows, not timed-test length, so confirm the applicable window with AGS before purchasing.