CGA logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

CGA Pass Rate 2026: What the Data Shows

TL;DR
  • The American Gem Society has not publicly disclosed an initial pass rate for the Certified Gemologist Appraiser exam.
  • The initial passing threshold is not publicly verified; the 75% figure applies only to annual renewal.
  • The initial exam has two parts: a theory examination and a practical appraisal-report-writing examination.
  • Applicants must already be AGS Certified Gemologists, so the candidate pool is pre-screened.

What a Pass Rate Would Actually Measure for the CGA

Search for the Certified Gemologist Appraiser pass rate and you will find plenty of confident-sounding numbers on forums and aggregator sites. Almost none of them can be traced to a source. This article takes a different approach: it lays out what the data shows, what it does not show, and how to use that honest picture to prepare intelligently.

Here, CGA refers specifically to the Certified Gemologist Appraiser credential issued by the American Gem Society (AGS). It is a jewelry-and-gemstone appraisal credential, and it is unrelated to other certifications that happen to share the same three letters. If you are still orienting yourself, start with What Is CGA Certification? or What Does CGA Stand For? before digging into outcomes data.

A pass rate is only meaningful when you know three things: who took the exam, what the passing standard was, and how outcomes were counted (first attempts only, or all attempts). For the CGA, the public record answers none of those questions with a number.

What AGS Has and Has Not Published

Based on the official AGS pages reviewed as of September 30, 2026, the situation is straightforward:

ItemPublicly Verified Status
Initial exam pass rateNot publicly disclosed
Initial passing thresholdNot publicly verified
Initial exam fee$349 after prerequisite approval
Question/task countsNot publicly verified
Theory response formatNot publicly verified
Weighted 2026 blueprintNo public dated version found
Annual renewal examOpen book, untimed, 75% to pass, delivered through AGS PRO

That table is the foundation for everything else. When a third-party site quotes a specific initial pass percentage, ask where it came from. If AGS has not published one, the number is either an estimate, an anecdote, or invented. For the passing-standard side of the question, see our companion piece on the CGA passing score, which applies the same verification discipline.

Why we are not giving you a percentage: Publishing a made-up figure would feel more satisfying, but it would be actively harmful. A candidate who believes the pass rate is high may under-prepare for the practical report; one who believes it is low may delay unnecessarily. The accurate statement is that the number is not public.

Why a Single Pass-Rate Figure Would Mislead

Even if AGS did release a number tomorrow, several structural features of this credential would make a single headline percentage hard to interpret.

The exam is two examinations, not one

The initial pathway includes a theory examination and a separate practical appraisal-report-writing examination. A blended pass rate would hide whether candidates stumble on theory, on the written report, or on both. These are very different skills: one is knowledge recall and application, the other is producing a professional, standards-compliant document.

Delivery is online and access-window based

The initial examinations are AGS-controlled and delivered online. AGS describes a completion window after launch, but its own pages conflict on its length: the credential overview says three weeks from launch, while the application terms say two weeks. Both describe how long you have to complete the exam, not a countdown timer on individual questions. Confirm the applicable window directly with AGS before you purchase, because expired access requires repurchase, and the fee is nonrefundable and nontransferable.

Counting rules are unknown

We do not know whether an official rate would count first attempts, retakes, or only completed submissions. A candidate who purchases access and never submits is a very different data point from one who submits and fails.

The Two-Part Structure Behind Any Pass Outcome

Because the exam is split into theory and practical components, the most useful way to think about "passing" is as clearing two separate hurdles.

Hurdle 1: The Theory Examination

This tests your command of appraisal principles. The question count, response format, and passing threshold are not publicly verified, so do not assume multiple choice, timed sections, or any particular cut score.

  • Expect conceptual material drawn from valuation theory and professional standards
  • Prepare for application questions, not just vocabulary recall
  • Confirm format details with AGS rather than relying on candidate hearsay

Hurdle 2: The Practical Appraisal-Report-Writing Examination

This is where you demonstrate that you can actually produce an appraisal report. Task counts and scoring criteria are not publicly verified.

  • Treat it as a work-product test: clarity, completeness, and standards compliance matter
  • The prerequisite course GJ202 requires building or modifying a report for a single item of jewelry, which is a useful rehearsal
  • Reviewers appear to care about whether your reasoning is documented, not just whether your final number is plausible

For a broader sense of where candidates find this credential demanding, read How Hard Is the CGA Exam?, which approaches difficulty from the same evidence-first angle.

Who Sits the Exam: A Pre-Screened Candidate Pool

One reason generic pass-rate comparisons fall apart is that CGA candidates are not a random sample of the public. The eligibility gates are substantial:

  • Applicants must already be AGS Certified Gemologists
  • They must complete approved appraisal education
  • They must complete color-vision testing
  • They must agree to applicable approved appraisal and report standards
  • They must be employed at an AGS member business; there is no general non-member exam price

In practice, that means everyone who reaches the exam has already cleared a prior credential, a prerequisite education route, and a vision screen. Pass-rate figures from open-enrollment exams would be a poor yardstick. For the full eligibility picture, see CGA Requirements: Eligibility, Prerequisites & How to Qualify.

The prerequisite education change

An August 6, 2026 AGS announcement replaced the former Appraisals I and II prerequisite with approved external foundational appraisal education. AGS's current qualifying-education page explicitly accepts ASA GJ201 plus GJ202, among other routes. That is one approved path, not the only one, and choosing it does not make the CGA equivalent to any ASA credential. This shift matters for pass-rate discussions because older anecdotal numbers may reflect candidates who took a different prerequisite sequence.

Stale data warning: Any pass-rate claim that predates the 2026 prerequisite change was generated under different education requirements. Even if it were accurate for its time, it would not describe today's candidate pipeline.

Renewal Pass Standards Are Not Initial Pass Rates

The most common source of confusion is mixing up the annual renewal exam with the initial credentialing exams. The renewal facts are public and specific:

  • Open book
  • Untimed
  • 75% required to pass
  • Delivered through AGS PRO
  • The 2026 deadline was September 22 at 11:59 p.m. PT, which has now passed
  • Credentials earned on or after December 1, 2025 first renew in 2027

These details describe maintenance of an existing credential. They cannot be used to infer the initial exam's format, timer, or cut score. If you read that "the CGA exam is open book with a 75% pass mark," you are reading about renewal, not the exam you sit to earn the credential. Annual recertification also involves applicable fees and, when requested, an appraisal-report review; fixed continuing-education hours and the annual fee amount are not verified in the sources we reviewed.

Key Takeaway

Keep two mental folders: "initial examinations" (theory plus practical report, many details unpublished) and "annual renewal" (open book, untimed, 75%). Never let facts from one folder leak into the other.

Budgeting for the full lifecycle, including renewal, is covered in CGA Certification Cost: Complete Pricing Breakdown, and timing details live in CGA Exam Dates: Testing Windows, Deadlines & Scheduling.

What Actually Drives Outcomes: The Preparation Domains

If a published pass rate cannot guide you, content mastery can. The two preparation categories below come from the ASA GJ201 and GJ202 course descriptions, which are one current AGS-approved prerequisite route. They are unweighted preparation categories, not an official AGS examination blueprint, so treat them as a study scaffold rather than a guarantee of what appears on the test.

Domain 1: GJ201 - Foundation I: Core Principles of Appraising Gems and Jewelry

This course builds the valuation theory that everything else rests on, anchored in the concepts and vocabulary of the Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice (USPAP).

  • Ethics, competency, privacy, and the responsibilities of the appraiser
  • The three approaches to valuation
  • Types of markets and their various levels
  • Definitions of value
  • The client / intended user / appraiser relationship
  • Basic economic theory, including how macroeconomic and local forces affect jewelry valuation
  • Descriptive elements for the types of gems and jewelry appraisers commonly encounter

Domain 2: GJ202 - Foundations II: Appraising Gems and Jewelry for Insurance Scheduling

This course applies GJ201's principles to a specific use case, with USPAP Standard 7 and Standard 8 as the basis for developing and reporting an appraisal.

  • When and how to apply the primary approaches to valuation
  • Recognizing and ranking relevant characteristics of specific property types
  • Data research and reconciliation
  • Narrative report writing
  • Required elements of a USPAP-compliant report

The relationship between the two is the key insight for preparation. GJ201 is the "why," and GJ202 is the "how to document it." A candidate strong on theory but weak on structured report writing is exposed on the practical examination; one with polished reports but shaky grounding in valuation approaches is exposed on theory. Our CGA exam domains guide unpacks these categories in more depth.

A note on standards editions: Some ancillary reading material in the ASA library still references older USPAP editions such as 2020-2021. We do not assert that any particular edition is currently adopted. Check the current standards independently before relying on any reading list.

Mapping Preparation to the Two Domains

Because format details are unpublished, the safest preparation plan front-loads conceptual mastery and then shifts to report production. This sequence reflects the dependency between the two domains rather than any official weighting.

Weeks 1-2

GJ201 Foundations

  • Master the three approaches to valuation and when each applies
  • Drill definitions of value and market levels until you can distinguish them under pressure
  • Review ethics, competency, and the client / intended user / appraiser relationship
Weeks 3-4

GJ202 Application

  • Practice reconciling comparable data into a supported value conclusion
  • Study the required elements of a USPAP-compliant report
  • Write at least one complete narrative report for a single item and critique it against Standard 7 and 8 expectations
Final Week

Integration and Logistics

  • Test yourself across both domains with mixed practice questions
  • Confirm your access window with AGS and plan to finish well inside it
  • Re-read your own sample report as a reviewer would

For a fuller preparation framework, see the CGA study guide, and keep the CGA cheat sheet handy for last-minute review. You can also pressure-test your knowledge with realistic questions on the CGA practice test site.

What to Verify Directly With AGS

Because so many initial-exam details are unpublished or conflicting, treat the following as a confirmation checklist before you pay the $349 fee. Remember that this fee is charged only after prerequisite approval, and that Diamond and Gold member discounts exist but their amounts are not quoted publicly.

  1. Access window length: two weeks or three weeks, given the conflict between AGS pages
  2. Passing threshold: for each of the theory and practical components
  3. Allowed materials: calculator, open-book, and proctoring rules for the initial exams are unverified
  4. Format: theory response style and the scope of the practical report task
  5. Retake policy: especially given that expired access requires repurchase
  6. Whether outcome statistics exist: ask AGS directly whether an initial pass rate is tracked or shared

Once you are through the exam, the question shifts to career value. Our analyses of whether the CGA is worth it and the CGA salary guide pick up where the pass-rate question leaves off. If you want to see where credential holders work, CGA jobs covers the hiring side.

Key Takeaway

The absence of a published pass rate is itself information. It tells you to anchor your confidence in content mastery of both domains and in direct confirmation of exam logistics, not in a statistic nobody can source.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the pass rate for the Certified Gemologist Appraiser exam?

The American Gem Society has not publicly disclosed an initial pass rate. Any specific percentage you see online should be treated as unverified unless it cites an official AGS source.

Is the 75% passing score the CGA initial exam standard?

No. The 75% threshold applies to the annual renewal exam, which is open book, untimed, and delivered through AGS PRO. The initial passing threshold is not publicly verified.

Why do pass-rate figures differ so much between websites?

Because there is no official number to anchor them. Sites may be mixing renewal rules with initial exam rules, repeating anecdotes, or borrowing figures from unrelated credentials that share the CGA acronym.

What does the initial CGA exam consist of?

It consists of a theory examination and a separate practical appraisal-report-writing examination, both AGS-controlled and delivered online. Question and task counts, response formats, and timed limits are not publicly verified.

Does choosing ASA GJ201 and GJ202 change what the CGA exam tests?

No. GJ201 and GJ202 are one AGS-approved prerequisite route and provide useful unweighted preparation categories. The CGA remains an AGS credential, and the courses do not make it equivalent to any ASA credential or define an official exam blueprint.

Ready to pass your CGA exam?

Put this into practice with free CGA questions across every exam domain.